Raindrops Cafe

Here I am blogging again, due to the busy schedule in school, I was not able to blog about food frequently. Every Monday, I would just pray that the week would end cos I just can’t wait for weekends where I can make use of the opportunity to check out new restaurants/cafes/bistros.

However, I felt a little discouraged and seemed to have lost the mood about blogging ever since sch started. I want to focus on enjoying  food rather than taking tons of pictures. Due to the lack of regular ” training ”, the pictures that I took were not as good as the ones I took in the past.

It was raining heavily and initially, I wanted to travel to the East side but was caught in a traffic jam ( hate it!!!) , I travelled down to Orchard instead. I have yet to visit the new * Scape and immediately I thought of Raindrops cafe (it’s raining) .

  

Raindrops Cafe

Raindrops Cafe, a rather new cafe located at *Scape, just behind Mandarin Gallery if you couldn’t find the location. There had been several write-ups in the newspaper about the new cafe and I had been pushing back my plans to visit them due to the busy schedule.

The cafe offer food at reasonable prices , targeting at  teenagers. The cafe itself is quite cosy, seats available indoors or alfresco but I guess everyone would have to sit indoors when it is raining (no shelter!)

They offer  set lunches which comes with soup of the day and a drink and the chef’s specialities are written on the chalkboard, a good suggestion if you are unsure what to order.

                                                                                         The Menu

  

  

They offer light starters/appetitizers, sandwiches, mains, pasta and desserts. However, I felt that there wasn’t much selections .

Hence, I just ordered the popular and the chef’s recommendation dishes – Tuna Tataki and a Salad with seabass and prawns.

  

                                    Prawns, Seabass, Mango & Papaya Salad ($10+)

  

 

” Steamed seabass, prawns, mangoes , papaya and mesclun salad in Balsamic vinaigrette dressing ”

 

 

 

I can smell something fishy when the salad is presented to me. I suspect it was either the prawn or the seabass . The seabass is steamed and shredded  ( I thought it was crabmeat) . After having a few mouthful, I confirmed the fishy ”business” came from the seabass, it just stinks a little.

The 4 prawns were sliced thinly and was quite bouncy. The salad comes with cubes of papaya and mangoes but I thought that they should have served the ripe mangoes ( a little raw).

 

 

                                                                            Tataki Tuna ($8+)

 

 

” Pan-seared fresh pacific Tuna, Shimeiji mushroom ragout , daikon salad in balsamico reduction”

This sounds interesting and tempting to me. The Tataki tuna is one of the popular dish here but I wasn’t wowed by it.

                                                                                 Pinkish Tuna

 

 

I love tuna, especially when the tuna is fresh , pan-seared lightly and melts in the mouth. Raindrops cafe’s version is slightly disappointing. The tuna is seasoned with a black pepper crust which I felt was too peppery for me and the tuna meat was slightly overdone.

As described, ”mushoom ragout” was not seen in my Tataki tuna. There were merely some shimeiji mushrooms and daikon salad, no creamy ragout was seen .

 

Verdict: The service is attentive, fills water promptly and service with a great smile. I think this cafe would cater to the teenager crowds which are not so ”picky ”about food as me as the cafe is a great hangout place!

Raindrops Cafe

#02-38 * Scape

Website:  http://www. raindrops.sg

Leave a comment