Archive for March 1st, 2010

Capricci

Capricci

Capricci, Italian dinning & more. Besides Italian dining, Capricci is also ideal for parties, celebrations & holding events. Capricci is fairly new (about 8 months) but it has already established a good reputation in this F &B industry.

Step into Capricci, I felt a sense of welcome & warmth. The restaurant adopts a fine-dining ambience, with dimly-lit lanterns, providing a relaxing atmospshere.

                                                   Complimentary Bread

 

Few pieces of Focaccia bread with olive oil & balsamic vingrette. The bread came warm,soft and moist, just the way I like it. There were some black olives and sliced capsicums in the bread. It was not too bad.

 

                                                              Melanzane alla Parmagiana ($16++)

 

Layers of sliced eggplants with melted mozarella in between, baked to perfection.  The tomato sauce that comes with it is home-made therefore it taste naturally sweet and fresh. The skin of the eggplant slices are crispy as they were being deep-fried before being baked. Basil pesto sauce drizzled at the side, simply lovely! I fell in love with it & would definately come back for more.

  

        Tagliolini Pasta with zucchini, groper and Saffron Sauce ($22++)

 

Saffron is  a spice derived from the flower of the saffron crocus. It is expensive and used for colouring food and just a little would be enough to colour food.

The Tagliolini pasta is very smooth and has a QQ texture. The Zucchini is very crunchy and they actually made an effort to peel and slice it evenly. Paparika powder sprinkled at the sides added a nice touch.

                                         Chilli from Sicily

When they present this chilli on my table, I was a little surprised. Pasta and chilli taste a little weird to me. Do not be deceived by it’s appearance. The chilli is fiery hot & spicy, it sent my tongue dancing after trying just a little. I didn’t dare touch it.

However, some critics said that the Chilli is not to be missed in Capricci. I tried having a second try with my pasta and it was actually not too bad. But, I would still prefer without it.

Massimo, the restaurant manager of Capricci is very hospitable and friendly. He explained the different dishes to me and seeked my opinions of the food. He made an initiative to find out the customer’s preference and tastebuds.

I think restaurant managers should learn from him to make an effort to talk to the customers to find out about their opinions and suggestions for improvements.

Capricci

27 Tanjong Pagar Road

Website: www. capricci.com.sg